About Joselyn
Joselyn is a boss. And you, too, can be a boss, if you remember these important tips: Brushing your teeth too often strips tooth enamel, every professional artist you've ever respected has experimented with drugs, and no one ever made history by staying quiet.

2 Responses to Everything You Know Is Wrong: Offensiveness, Safe Spaces, and Equality

  1. GayLethbian says:

    I’m not a straight cisgendered man, but I feel like if you talked down to them less you would get less of a volatile response. I agree with the core values and the education you’re trying to put forth…

    But youre being rude and patronizing as if to illicit a negative response from those who could benefit from your education most.

    • Joselyn says:

      Thank you very much for your comment.

      The volatile responses predate my abrasive demeanor by a significant margin. While there is little evidence of this on this particular blog, one needn’t look far to find examples of polite, well-spoken writers on the internet whose comment sections are nonetheless filled with all sorts of dreadful bile and filth. The suffragettes were accused of promoting satanism, abolitionists were blamed for periods of famine, and I still hear ghost stories about the dire consequences of promoting “the gay agenda”. Such backlash is as old as every civil rights movement in history.

      In my experience, to be soft-spoken is to be ignored, and I’d rather have an earnest enemy than an ally whose loyalty is contingent on how nice I am when I discuss the very real violence and oppression that I see occurring to people I love.

      Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. says it better than I ever could:

      “Shallow understanding from people of good will is more frustrating than absolute misunderstanding from people of ill will. Lukewarm acceptance is much more bewildering than outright rejection”.

Leave a Reply

